Figuring out what candy is vegan is confusing and often complicated. In this Essential Guide to Vegan Halloween Candy, you’ll easily find something to satisfy your sweet tooth so that you can have the best ever Halloween celebration!
If your kids are anything like mine they live for candy! I have done everything I can to curtail their love for everything sweet, but they are kids after all.
Halloween is their favorite holiday right behind Christmas. The candy they collect while trick-or-treating is the primary reason, but they also love dressing up in their costumes.
Even though we do our best to put limits around sweets without being restrictive, I want them to enjoy the Halloween season, and part of that is partaking in candy.
When it comes to Halloween it can be confusing to sort through the small ingredient labels to figure out which candy is vegan and which is not.
So many brands add extra ingredients, and something you think is vegan might not be. However, there are a lot of choices out there for those following a vegan lifestyle.
In this article, you will find a list of ingredients to look out for, as well as suggestions for Halloween candy whether you like hard, chewy, or chocolate treats!
- Vegan Halloween Candy
- What candy ingredients are vegan?
- What candy ingredients are not vegan?
- Accidentally Mainstream Vegan Candy
- Can vegans eat chocolate?
- Vegan Chocolates and Caramels
- Can vegans eat chewy candy?
- Vegan Hard Candy and Chews
- Other Vegan Halloween Treats
- This list of vegan Halloween candy was compiled using the following sources:
- Other helpful Vegan Articles!
Vegan Halloween Candy
Just so that you are aware, this list has been verified vegan as of August 2022.
However, companies often change ingredients. If you are reading this at a later date, it is possible that some of the candies listed may have changed their formula.
I frequently update posts and reverify ingredients when possible. If you find that a candy listed is no longer vegan, please comment below and let me know, so that I can update and make the necessary changes!
What candy ingredients are vegan?
When looking at ingredient labels you will likely find ingredients that you may not know or understand.
To help you read ingredient labels, below is a list of ingredients that are vegan-friendly, meaning they are not derived from animals or animal products.
While these ingredients are vegan, they are not necessarily healthy.
- Cacao butter
- Brown rice syrup
- Organic sugar
- Soy Lecithin
- Rice Milk
- Almond Milk
- Soy Milk
- Carnauba Wax
What candy ingredients are not vegan?
These are ingredients you’ll find in candy and chocolate that are NOT vegan, and should be avoided if following a vegan lifestyle.
- Bone Char
- Food Grade Way
- Confectioners Glaze
- Anything with Milk
Accidentally Mainstream Vegan Candy
Below is a list of candy brands you can find in almost any store that is vegan-friendly. Most of these are not labeled vegan, which is why I call them accidentally vegan! It is also important to note, that these candy brands are made with cane sugar. Cane sugar that is made in the United States is often bleached with bone char, which means that these candies don’t blatantly have animal ingredients, the sugar used to make these candies have the potential to be bleached with bone char.
Can vegans eat chocolate?
Vegans can eat some types of chocolate. Milk chocolate as the name implies contains milk, and is not suitable for vegans, the same is true for most types of white chocolate.
However, many types of dark chocolate are vegan. I recommend checking the ingredient label to be sure. The chocolates and caramels listed below have been verified vegan.
Vegan Chocolates and Caramels
- Cocomels-These caramel sweets are vegan, and made with coconut sugar! There are more types, including sea salt, and some covered in chocolate!
- Enjoy Life Chocolate-These chocolate bars come in both dark and milk chocolate. Made with rice milk, they are allergy friendly and vegan! In the fall you can also find them in snack sizes for trick-or-treat!
- Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups-These also come in almond butter and cashew butter! Be sure to get the dark chocolate and not the milk chocolate variety!
- Endangered Species Dark Chocolate-This fair trade organic chocolate is delicious and vegan-friendly!
- Hu Salty Dark Chocolate-This dark chocolate is fair trade, vegan friendly, and comes in a variety of flavors!
- Alter Eco Super Dark Chocolate-All of the super dark chocolate is vegan, however, the other types of chocolate in this line are not.
- Unreal Chocolate Gems-Similar to M&Ms. These come in peanut gems, as well as crispy gems. They use natural dyes for colored candy shells.
- Unreal Chocolate Peanut Butter or Almond Butter Cups-Look for the dark chocolate variety!
- Unreal Chocolate Coconut Bars-Similar to the popular Mounds candy bars, these will hit the spot!
- Little Secrets Dark Chocolate Pieces-Also similar to M&Ms. These come in plain, peanut butter, sea salt almond, sea salt peanut butter, and toasted coconut.
- Ocho Coconut Minis and Bars-These delicious bars are reminiscent of Almond Joy and Mounds bars. Around Halloween, they come out with snack-size bars!
- Free2B Foods Sun Butter Cups-These chocolate cups come in mint, and sun butter! Perfect for kids with allergies to nuts and dairy!
Can vegans eat chewy candy?
When looking for chewy candy to enjoy you have to be careful that it doesn’t contain gelatin or bees wax. Some chewy candies may also contain milk or butter. Take a look at the ingredient label.
Many mainstream chewy candies are good to go for vegans such as Skittles, Swedish Fish, and Sour Patch Kids! Below is a list of more hard and chewy less mainstream candy brands.
Vegan Hard Candy and Chews
- Wholesome Life Delish Fish-This brand has numerous types of candy. Their most popular is the Delish Fish similar to Swedish Fish. They also have other types of candies including candy canes and Cinnamon Organic Bears.
- Yum Earth Organic Candies-This brand has organic lollipops, licorice, gummy bears, and more!
- Smart Sweets-These treats are gluten-free, plant-based, and non-GMO. You’ll find peach rings, sweet fish, gummy bears, and sour kids!
- Annie’s Bunny Fruit Snacks-These popular organic fruit snacks can double as a treat for Halloween!
- Lovely Organic Chewy Candies-Similar to Starburst, these candies are organic, non-GMO, vegan, and gluten-free!
Other Vegan Halloween Treats
- Oreos Minis-These snack-size Oreo cookies are a great vegan treat to hand out to your trick-or-treaters!
- Cracker Jacks-The ever so-popular Cracker Jacks come in small individual bags with a prize!
This list of vegan Halloween candy was compiled using the following sources:
- Vegan Candy List by Urban Tastebud
- Which candies are vegan? by Peta
- The VegNews Guide to Vegan Candy by The VegNews
Other helpful Vegan Articles!
Please comment below if you found this article helpful or have any additional questions. You can also follow me on Instagram, Pinterest, and Facebook for more family-friendly vegan recipes!
Leave a Reply